Watto masterclass at the Wankhede as CSK lift their third IPL trophy

Cricket May 28, 2018
CSK, Chennai Super Kings, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, Cricket, Team Chennai, Ranji Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Deodhar Trophy

Written by

Watto masterclass at the Wankhede as CSK lift their third IPL trophy

Sunrisers Hyderabad were completely outclassed by MS Dhoni’s men as CSK lift their third IPL courtesy of a blistering innings from Shane Watson.

Chasing 179, CSK got off to a very slow start as Bhuvenshwar Kumar bowled a great opening spell. Shane Watson could not get going and only got off the mark on the 11th delivery he faced. Du Plessis tried to up the ante but only managed to scoop it up in the air to give SRH an early breakthrough. Watson hit a boundary to break the shackles and since then it was just a one-man show. The Australian toiled with the SRH bowlers and took them to the cleaners. Suresh Raina provided able support at the other end as the pair struck a 100-run partnership. Raina departed after a well played knock. The match got out of reach for SRH when Watson pummelled Sandeep Sharma for 27 runs in one over. Rayudu and Watson comfortably took CSK across the line as they won with 9 balls to spare.

After being put into bat, SRH got off to a cautious start. Goswami was run out due to some brilliant fielding by Karn Sharma. Dhawan and Williamson steadied the ship and put on a valuable partnership. Dhawan soon departed but Williamson and Shakib upped the scoring rate. Shakib soon departed but Yusuf Pathan came in and kept the scoreboard ticking. Just when things were going well for SRH, Jadeja picked up the crucial wicket of Williamson. Yusuf Pathan and Carlos Brathwaite provided some fireworks in the end and took SRH to a competitive total of 178.


Shane Watson was undoubtedly CSK’s standout performer on the night. Lungi Ngidi bowled a brilliant spell and will be a leading bowler for CSK in the coming years. Overall, a complete team performance by CSK to win the match and the trophy for the Men In Yellow.